Home Music The Andy Rothstein Band: Truth Against the World

The Andy Rothstein Band: Truth Against the World

The Andy Rothstein Band: Truth Against the World
Photo by Kristen Driscoll Photography | www.kristendriscollphotography.com

The music on this album Truth Against the World is simple yet intricate and seems to affirm the supremacy of a fusion between electric guitars and the horns in a medium sized ensemble. There is, of course, the necessity of the di rigueur bass and drums that keeps the vigorous music rocking. The music of The Andy Rothstein Band takes its inspiration from the rollicking funk of Earth Wind and Fire and bands such as the Blood Sweat and Tears. But it throws a spotlight on its electric guitar-playing leader and co-composer of much of this repertoire.

Mr Rothstein, for his part, creates fresh, unique and seductively focused soundworlds from his sinuous electric guitar tempered by conventional acoustic and electronic pianos playing against a brassy and bronzy backdrop of trumpet and trombone with [mostly] tenor and baritone saxophones and the softer flugelhorn on one track and flute on another track. The horns and woodwinds bolster the soundworld of this ensemble giving it a fiery big-band sound. Harmonics are glimmering and rhythms towering making for music that may be characterised by its unique cool urban chic.

Thee sonic universe is made memorable for charts such as “Linger” which features the gorgeous voice of Audrey Martells, and “Truth Against the World”, a poignant piece of music that – while coming from a place of Existential dread – remains particularly euphonious. Overall, though, the music of this band comes at you in attractively dense blocks of sound, shaped by radiant guitar sounds magnified by bold horns – all kept in play by an elegant rhythm section that erects a towering edifice with bass and drums.

Tracks – 1: Perfect Storm; 2: SDPM; 3: Blues; 4: Linger; 5: The Witness; 6: Strum; 7: Step Out; 8: Hell Mary; 9: Funk 7; 10: Cab 804; 11: Truth Against the World

Musicians – </emAndy Rothstein: guitar; Tony Senatore: bass; Tom Cottone: drums [1, 2, 4, 7 – 11]; Andrea Valentini: drums [3, 6]; D Pappas: keyboards; Steve Jankowski: trumpet [1 – 7, 9, 11], flugelhorn [10] and trombone [1 – 7, 9, 11]; Ken Gioffre: tenor saxophone [1, 3, 4, 7, 11], baritone saxophones [1, 4, 7, 11] and flute [10]; Tom Timko: tenor and baritone saxophones [2, 9]; Audrey Martells: vocals [4, 8]

Released – 2022
Label – Vemicious Kind Music
Runtime – 55:33


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.