Home Music Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith: A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke

Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith: A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke


Vijay Iyer Wadada Leo SmithFor many years now you could have confined your jazz and exploratory music CD acquisitions to releases by Americans Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith. You would have still found your CD shelves groaning under the weight of variety, depth and unbridled invention.

Vijay Iyer Wadada Leo Smith A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke copyBoth Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith are among the foremost of talented American musicians who have developed and individualistic, difficult-to-classify personal genre. Here, on their latest CD, A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke roots in and branches of jazz often surface, but there is so much else going on: Iyer and Smith skilfully and imaginatively and (by-and-large) subtly mix elements of jazz, electronics, contemporary composition, free improvisation and minimalism and the occasional nod to noise music. The centrepiece is the 7-part suite ‘A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke’, a largely improvised piece that develops from beguiling, elegant melodies and showcases Vijay Iyer’s and Wadada Leo Smith’s ways with arresting textures and colours. This sonic creation stimulates mental pictures of a mysterious narrative evoking the work of the painter Edward Hopper or the director David Lynch, yet they are always distinctively part os Iyer’s and Smith’s unique sound world.

To complement the crisp clarity of the sound Iyer and Smith have sown carefully constructed parts of the suite bookended with what seems like an entrance into this sound world ‘Passage’ and the homage to one of the greatest contraltos and exponents of the spiritual and common song – Marian Anderson – in an ethereally beautiful song of the same name. Here too, as well as throughout the disc, carefully constructed pieces with sections of Wadada Leo Smith’s magisterial trumpet weaving its way through Vijay Iyer’s ghostly pianistic whispers, both improvising when they have to and playing through composed pieces at other times.

As a studio production this work, heralded by Manfred Eicher’s signature production via ECM’s quintessential sound, this music works brilliantly. It would be fascinating to hear how it translates when the musicians take the set on the road.

Track List: Passage; (A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke – Suite [2-7]) All Becomes Alive; The Empty Mind Receives; Labyrinths; A Divine Courage; Uncut Emeralds; A Cold Fire; Notes On Water; Marian Anderson.

Personnel: Vijay Iyer: piano, Fender Rhodes piano, electronics; Wadada Leo Smith: trumpet.

Label: ECM
Release date: April 2016
Running time: 1:02:36
Buy album on: amazon

Based in Canada, Raul da Gama is a Canadian poet, musician and accomplished critic whose profound analysis is reinforced by his deep understanding of music, technically as well as historically. Raul studied music at Trinity College of Music, London and has read the classics, lived and worked in three continents and believes that there is a common thread running through every culture on earth. It is this unifying aspect of humanity that occupies his thoughts each day as he continues to write poetry and critique music. His last book was The Unfinished Score: The Complete Works of Charles Mingus, a book that relocated the life and works of the great American composer and bassist, Charles Mingus, to the landscape of poetry. He is currently at work on a poem of some length.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.