Home Music Roy Powell’s Electric Band Mumpbeak

Roy Powell’s Electric Band Mumpbeak



About Roy Powell and Mumpbeak

Roy Powell studied piano and avant-garde composition at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, England.

He first came to prominence in 1994 with his debut recording A Big Sky which was hailed as “a real bench mark in British contemporary electric jazz” by Jazz on CD. He then emigrated to Oslo, Norway where he collaborated on an album of free improvised music Holus which was described as “ an outstanding success” by Jazz Journal International.

His next release as a leader- North by Northwest featuring Norwegian bassist Arild Andersen was also a critical success as well as being selected as Best Jazz CD of 2001 by Amazon.co.uk. Solace which was released in 2003 received lavish praise including 4 stars in Downbeat.

His piece Bow Out has been performed by Oakland, Richmond, Cincinnati and Florida ballet companies His recordings have appeared in the Gramophone Jazz Good CD guide, Gramophone Classical Good CD guide, the Lord Discography, The new Grove Dictionary of Jazz as well as jazz magazines in Europe and the US and radio shows in the UK, Germany, Japan, Switzerland, Holland, Scandinavia and the US.

Powell has recorded with and played concerts with many significant musicians including Art Farmer, Eddie Daniels, Jeff Berlin, Hadrian Feraud, Lorenzo Feliciati, Reggie Washington, Bobby Shew, Anthony Braxton, Vince Mendoza, Mike Gibbs, Iain Ballamy, Martin France, Frode Berg, Arild Andersen, Terje Rypdal, Mike Walker, Sigurd Køhn, Jarle Vespestad, Jacob Young, Terje Gewelt, Cuong Vu, Pat Mastelotto, Joel Harrison, Dan Weiss, Nils Olav Johansen, Dominique Di Piazza, Per Mathisen, Roy Hargrove, Nils Petter Molvær and Dave Liebman amongst others.

He is currently active in an organ trio InterStatic with Jarle Vespestad and Jacob Young and an international quartet Naked Truth with Graham Haynes, Pat Mastelotto and Lorenzo Feliciati. Both InterStatic and Naked Truth are released on RareNoiseRecords.

Mumpbeak is his first release on RareNoiseRecords as band leader, with Pat Mastelotto, Bill Laswell, Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz, Tony Levin and Lorenzo Feliciati.

Back to CD review


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.